• Publication7
  • Publication1
  • Publication9
  • Publication3

Shore Beach Service’s 22nd annual Lifeguard Competition took place this June at Hilton Head Island’s Coligny Beach Park after a year hiatus due to COVID. Shore's Beach Patrol supervisors are the team captains and teams. The competition rewards teamwork along with recognizing individual excellence. Every lifeguard competes and receives team points in correlation to the place that the lifeguard finishes the event. A top 5 finish earns that lifeguard individual points that are tallied to crown the overall women’s and men’s champion. The individual points are also used to create a regional competition team. The competition is scheduled as a three-night affair. In each event, the women and men compete separately.



2021 Team Results

Place Team Captain Points
1 Forrest Beach Fury Bryan Koenig
2 Palmetto Goons David Murphy 1563
3 Lowcountry Avengers Myshel Rodenbeck 1410
4 International Pirate Assoc. Chris Schmidt 1353
5 Aquaholics Aaron Johnston 1310
6 The Hot Pack Alec Kipnes 1198




Past Team Champions

Year Team Captain
2021 Forest Beach Fury Bryan Koenig
2019 The Guardians Rebecca Gerner
2018 Dread Nauticals Luke McGowan
2017 Public Beach Rebels Scott Ohlson
2016 Public Beach Rebels Scott Ohlson
2015 Tay Watch Taylor Smith
2014 Public Beach Rebels Scott Ohlson
2013 Lagerheads Jerry Staub
2012 Bird Street Brawlers Scott Ohlson
2011 Team Spicoli Dan Condell
2010 Palmetto Mafia Kjell Pederson
2009 Palmetto Mafia Kjell Pederson
2008 Palmetto Mafia Kjell Pederson
2007 Team Spicoli Dan Condell
2006 Riot In Progress Susie Duke
2005 Riot In Progress Mike Wagner
2004 Singleton Beach Bandits Adam King
2003 Team Spicoli Dan Condell
2002 Team Tropical Storm Phil Vermette
2001 BOHICA Becky Caggioni

Women's Overall Champions

2021 Chelsea Borrowdale
2019 Chelsea Borrowdale
2018 Leah Dupre
2017 Megan Strickland
2016 Hope Andrews
2015 Hope Andrews
2014 Taylor Smith
2013 Taylor Smith
2012 Maura Donahue
2011 Sara Bloom
2010 Kelli King
2009 Kelli King
2008 Meghan King
2007 Cari Heckert
2006 Lauren Buck, Kelli King, Meghan King
2005 Kelli King
2004 Elise Thornell
2003 Hannah Fraser
2002 Linda Spencer
2001 Hannah Fraser
2000 Claire Halloran
1999 Erin Ferrell
1998 Janci Smith

Men's Overall Champions

2021 Jan Hanzal
2019 Will Dvorsky
2018 Gabriel Miranda
2017 Bradley Wilson
2016 Vaughn Holmes
2015 Zac Laffin
2014 Jordan Bantista
2013 Jordan Bantista
2012 Greg Kohler
2011 David Humphrey
2010 Dan Gorman
2009 Dan Gorman
2008 Dan Gorman
2007 Justin Carver
2006 Justin Carver, Charlie Knapper, Andy Motlis
2005 Justin Carver
2004 Justin Carver
2003 Garrett Kelly
2002 Brad Jones
2001 Mike Dull
2000 Sean Connolly
1999 Travis Gay
1998 Dan Condell