• Publication7
  • Publication1
  • Publication9
  • Publication3

Boys flags 2018 800x477Shore Beach Service’s 21st annual Lifeguard Competition got underway on June 15th at Hilton Head Island’s Coligny Beach Park. Each summer the Beach Patrol supervisors, who act as the team captains, draft teams that are made up of the entire staff. The competition rewards teamwork along with recognizing individual excellence. Every lifeguard in the competition receives team points in correlation to the place that the lifeguard finishes the event. A top-five finish earns that lifeguard individual points that are tallied to crown the overall women’s and men’s champion. The individual points are also used to create a regional competition team. The competition is scheduled as a three-night affair. In each event, the women and men compete separately.

Returning as captains were Scott Ohlson with his Public Beach Rebels, David Murphy leading the Palmetto Gunes, Taylor Smith's Tay Watch, Zac Laffin and his Palmetto Bay Pirates, Luke McGowan commanding the Dread Nauticals and finally sophomore captain  Julie Trodden, bringing the Tropic Thunder. 

Dupre and Madison 800x416

The competition commenced with the 400 meter Surf Swim.    Eleonora Unanova, (Tay Watch/HendersonState) snagged 1st, followed by Maisey Kent (Palmetto Bay Pirates/Delta State),  Kayla Aitken (Tropic Thunder/Evansville) Leah Dupre (Dread Nauticals) and Liz Madison (Public Beach Rebels/Ball State), .  The men's Surf Swim saw  Gabriel Mirada (Palmetto Gunes/Delta State) taking the top spot, cruising to victory.  Arsham Mirzaei (Dread Nauticals/Lees-McRae) was 2nd, followed by Kevin Lotzer (Pirates/ Wisconsin-LaCrosse), and Parker Whitley (Tay Watch) and Bogdan Pchynok(Palmetto Gunesr/HendersonState) in 5th.

The 2K Beach Run followed, and Laine McIntyre (Tay Watch) outpaced Maddy Yemc (Pirates), who finished 2nd.  Leah Dupre finished 3rd, followed by Kayla Aitken and Eleanora Unanova in 5th.  Parker Whitley (Tay Watch) sped to victory on the men's side, outlasting, Kevin Lotzer.  Last year's winner Tian Siggins (Pirates) was 3rd, while Bryan Koenig (Thunder)  finished 4th and Mitchell Prather took 5th.  

Night two of competiton started with the Run-Swim-Run, which consists of a 200 meter run along the edge of the water, followed by a swim of 300 meters before coming ashore to run the final 200 meters. On the women’s side, Eleonora Unanova snagged 1st and Kayla Aitken moved up a spot from the Surf Swim taking 2nd.  Liz Madison was 3rd, out legging 4th place finisher Leah Dupre in the final run.  Maisey Kent was 5th.  In the men's event, it was Gabriel Miranda again taking 1st handily, followed by Kevin Lotzer, Arsham Mirzaei, Parker Whitley and Mitchell Prather (Thunder/Ball State)

girls flags 800x234

Next up was the 100 Meter Dash.   In the women's race, Hunter Dye (Dread Nauticals/USCB) sped past teammate Leah Dupre for the win. Dupre was 2nd, followed by Laine McIntyre (Tay Watch), Kayla Aitken, and Hallie Glavinos (Tropic Thunder).    Aaron Johnston (Dread Nauticals) was 1st across the finish line for the men.  Zach Toman (Tropic Thunder) took 2nd, followed by Ben Ellis(Pirates), Zach Toman (Rebels/Ball State) and Aaron Johnston (Nauticals). The captains then plucked their four best ladies and four best men  for the 4x100 Relay. The Tay Watch team of Rebecca Gerner, Cassidy Langley, Christieanna Apon and Jessica Scott cruised to victory, while  Palmetto Bay Pirates team of Bradley Wilson, Ben Ellis, Jake Dummermuth and Tim Wright were the mens winners.

Overall Champs 748x800

The grand finale of the lifeguard competition is the biggest crowd pleaser -Beach Flags.  The event is held in an area  that is 10 yards wide by 25 yards long. The lifeguards start lying prone in the sand with their feet facing the flags. The flags are actually cut pieces of a garden hose each about a foot long. When the whistle blows the guards erupt from their position and race across the sand to grab a flag. There is always one less flag than there are competitors, so one guard is eliminated at the end of each round. Through the process of elimination you get down to the most exciting few seconds of the entire competition. Two lifeguards, one flag. 

 Leah Dupre bested the HunterDye for the women's Beach Flags title, as Dye had a false start going for the last flag. Kayla Aitken took 3rd, Laine McIntyre was 4th and Hallie Glavinos snagged 5th.  Jake Dummermuth came back from a torn ACL in the offseason  and defended his 2016 & 2017 titles, edging out Aaron Johnston.  Gabriel Miranda was 3rd, followed by Parker Whitley and Dodge Pruitt (Palmetto Gunes and Tyler Crispen took  took the next two spots, while Elisha Brooks (Nauticals) finished 5th.   

20181023 091642

With her 1st place finish in the Beach Flags,  2nd in the 100 Meter Dash, 3rd in the 2K Run, and 4th in both swim events, Leah Dupre took the Women's Overall Championship.   Gabriel Miranda's 1st place finishes both swims, 3rd in Beach Flags and 4th in the 100 Meter Dash earned him the Men’s Overall Champion title. 

When team points were tallied, Dread Nauticals' strong performance accross every event gave captain Luke McGowan his first team championship. Laffin's Palmetto Pay Pirates were runnners up again for the third straight year,  edging out the Rebels. Tropic Thunder finished 4th, followed by Tay Watch in 5th and  Palmetto Goons in last.



2019 Team Results

Place Team Captain Points
1 The Guardians Reba Gerner
2 Dread Nauticals Luke McGowan 1306
3 Palmetto Goons David Murphy 1298
4 Taywatch Taylor Smith 1142
5 Tropic Thunder Julie Trodden 1126
6 Public Beach Rebels Scott Ohlson 1023




Past Team Champions

Year Team Captain
2017 Public Beach Rebels Scott Ohlson
2016 Public Beach Rebels Scott Ohlson
2015 Tay Watch Taylor Smith
2014 Public Beach Rebels Scott Ohlson
2013 Lagerheads Jerry Staub
2012 Bird Street Brawlers Scott Ohlson
2011 Team Spicoli Dan Condell
2010 Palmetto Mafia Kjell Pederson
2009 Palmetto Mafia Kjell Pederson
2008 Palmetto Mafia Kjell Pederson
2007 Team Spicoli Dan Condell
2006 Riot In Progress Susie Duke
2005 Riot In Progress Mike Wagner
2004 Singleton Beach Bandits Adam King
2003 Team Spicoli Dan Condell
2002 Team Tropical Storm Phil Vermette
2001 BOHICA Becky Caggioni

Women's Overall Champions

2019 Chelsea Borrowdale
2018 Leah Dupre
2017 Megan Strickland
2016 Hope Andrews
2015 Hope Andrews
2014 Taylor Smith
2013 Taylor Smith
2012 Maura Donahue
2011 Sara Bloom
2010 Kelli King
2009 Kelli King
2008 Meghan King
2007 Cari Heckert
2006 Lauren Buck, Kelli King, Meghan King
2005 Kelli King
2004 Elise Thornell
2003 Hannah Fraser
2002 Linda Spencer
2001 Hannah Fraser
2000 Claire Halloran
1999 Erin Ferrell
1998 Janci Smith

Men's Overall Champions

2019 Will Dvorsky
2018 Gabriel Miranda
2017 Bradley Wilson
2016 Vaughn Holmes
2015 Zac Laffin
2014 Jordan Bantista
2013 Jordan Bantista
2012 Greg Kohler
2011 David Humphrey
2010 Dan Gorman
2009 Dan Gorman
2008 Dan Gorman
2007 Justin Carver
2006 Justin Carver, Charlie Knapper, Andy Motlis
2005 Justin Carver
2004 Justin Carver
2003 Garrett Kelly
2002 Brad Jones
2001 Mike Dull
2000 Sean Connolly
1999 Travis Gay
1998 Dan Condell